Who’s Who

The management of Benjamin Franklin House includes Chairman John Studzinski and Director Dr Márcia Balisciano.

The Board of Governors comprises business leaders, specialists in architecture, history and communications, and individuals with life-long involvement in heritage and voluntary causes. The Board provides the strategic direction of Benjamin Franklin House and meets on average four times a year.

List of board members

  • John Studzinski, Chairman
  • Elizabeth Tirone, Secretary
  • Tudor Aw
  • Anne Prescott Keigher
  • Rory Sutherland
  • David Morse
  • Gay Huey Evans
  • Gerard Errera
  • Irina Bokova

Dr Márcia Balisciano, ex officio

Academic Advisory Panel

The Academic Advisory Panel consists of scholars who support the work of Benjamin Franklin House.  They have kindly agreed to share their expertise and advice.

List of members

  • Chair- Dr. Huw David, Wolfson College Development Director, University of Oxford
  • Dr. Douglas Bradburn, President and CEO of George Washington’s Mount Vernon
  • Professor H W Brands, Jack S. Blanton Sr. Chair in History, University of Texas
  • Professor Philip E. Krider,  Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences at University of Arizona
  • Dr. Rosalind Remer, Vice Provost & Lenfest Executive Director, Center for Cultural Partnerships, Drexel University
  • Professor Joyce E. Chaplin, James Duncan Phillips Professor of Early American History, Harvard University
  • Dr. Andrew J. O’Shaughnessy, Vice President of the  Thomas Jefferson Foundation at Monticello, the Saunders Director of the Robert H. Smith International Centre for Jefferson Studies at Monticello, and Professor of History at the University of Virginia
  • Professor Gordon Wood, Alva O. Way University Professor and Professor of History Emeritus, Brown University
  • Dr. George Boudreau, Public Historian and Teaching Fellow at University of Pennsylvania
  • Dr. Philip Hatfield
  • Dr. James N. Green, Librarian of The Library Company of Philadelphia
  • Dr. Patrick Spero, Librarian and Director of the American Philosophical Society Library
  • John Alviti, former Senior Curator of Collections at The Franklin Institute
  • Professor Jeremy Black, former Professor of History at University of Exeter
  • Professor Michael Cox, Founding Director of LSE IDEAS at London School of Economics

Key Staff

Director – Dr Márcia Balisciano.

Operations Manager – Michael Hall

Education Manager – Henry Wilkinson

Front of House Supervisor – Emily Clare

Polly, in a Georgian silk dress, beside projection on the wall
In-Residence at BFH

Our In-Residence programme allows scholars and artists to channel their creativity and be inspired by the world’s only surviving Franklin home.