Franklin’s Young Inventors

Franklin’s Young Inventors is our science club for aspiring scientists in Key Stage 3 (ages 11-14).

Participants learn all about the experiments carried out by Benjamin Franklin and his British friends as well as trying their hand at practical investigations. A range of core topics from the science curriculum are covered including electricity, forces, sound and the human body.

We are currently delivering our Franklin’s Young Inventors programme digitally via Zoom on Tuesdays at 4.30pm BST and Saturdays at 11.30am BST. Click on the links below to visit the event pages and register for upcoming sessions:

Spring Term

Saturday 9 January 11.30am-12pm GMT: Static Electricity

Tuesday 12 January 4.30pm-5pm GMT: Electric Current

Saturday 23 January 11.20am-12pm GMT: Pollination

Tuesday 26 January 4.30pm-5pm: Photosynthesis

Saturday 6 February 11.30am-12pm: Energy Transfer

Tuesday 9 February 4.30pm-5pm: Fuels and Costs

Saturday 20 February 11.30am-12pm: Forces

Tuesday 23 February 4.30pm-5pm: Sound

Saturday 6 March 11.30am-12pm: Balanced Diet

Tuesday 9 March 4.30pm-5pm: Skeleton

Saturday 20 March 11.30am-12pm: Muscles

Tuesday 23 March 2pm-2.30pm GMT: Special Guest

Please note that the classes are recorded. By registering, participants agree to follow our Online Safety Agreement.

Secondary schools can also book free taster sessions for their Key Stage 3 classes. For more information, contact our Education Manager.

Funding for Franklin’s Young Inventors has generously been provided by the United States Government.